Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Limerick...Results of the Limerick County Senior Cross Country Championships...Sun 2nd Nov, 2008

The Limerick Cross Country Championships took place in Newcastlewest in West Limerick on Sunday, the 2nd of November.
Race Report by Verena Tarpey...
The Demesne in Newcastlewest was the venue once more for the County Senior Cross Country Championships held yesterday, 2nd November 2008. It turned out to be a crisp, cool autumnal day for the event. West Limerick A.C. won both mens and ladies titles in a reversal of fortune this year.There was a big turnout of men and ladies for the event - this was despite a sizeable number of competitors having run Dublin City Marathon the Monday beforehand – Martin Doody, Seamus Cawley, Mick Carroll, Bernie Barron and Verena Tarpey to name but a few. There were also a number of walking wounded - Ger Guinea is still recovering from a bout of shingles, Pat McCartan is only coming back to fitness and Dan Collopy was looking fairly pale around the course having suffered from a severe stomach bug that day!!!. It was a testament to the participants that they chose to compete for their team despite suffering with various forms of fatigue and illness. It also demonstrates the importance of this event to all club runners.

The women’s event had one clear winner being Rosemary Ryan of Bilboa A.C. Our own Lisa Horgan was second and was followed home by Verena Tarpey in third spot. The men’s event was hotly contested and Tom Carey, despite losing his way and his left shoe took gold for Limerick A.C.. A fine display of running was shown by Martin Doody, also of Limerick A.C. – despite having completed the Dublin City Marathon 6 days earlier, he ran home in second place followed closely by our own West Limerick A.C.’s Pat McCartan. Despite the fine display of Tom and Martin, Limerick A.C. lacked strength in numbers in comparison to West Limerick A.C who fielded 15 runners or more.

West Limerick A.C came home to win the County Title this year, Limerick A.C were in second spot and West Limerick’s B team took bronze.

The teams were as follows........
Team Gold...........Patrick McCartan, Brian Jenkins, Aogan MacDomhnaill, Eamonn Horgan, Dermot Kearns, Gerard Guinea

Team Bronze.......Michael O'Brien, Joe Chawke, Niall Collins, Dan Collopy, Mike MacDomhnaill, Gary Madden
West Limerick Ladies Team......Lisa Horgan, Verena Tarpey, Juliette Frost, Carmel MacDomhaill, Bernie BarronAlison, Ledger

Once again, West Limerick A.C. have shown to be great hosts of the event with very welcome soup, sandwiches and teas provided downtown afterwards.........Verena Tarpey
The results for Limerick AC can be found HERE.

No comments: