Monday, June 28, 2010

Waterford...Results of the Dromana 5 - Fri 25 Jun 2010

Runners passing through the magnificent Dromana Arch and Bridge.

There was a record entry of 208 runners for the 18th Dungarvan Leader Dromana 5 held on Friday night.
The full results are now up on the West Waterford AC site. This was the seventh race in the Ger Wyley Sports Summer Series 2010 and also the last chance to enter the series.

A new Ladies course record was set by
Pauline Lambe in 29:20.
The men's race was won by Philip Harty, who has just qualified for the Irish team for the European mountain running championships to be held in Bulgaria.

The men's record is still held by John Treacy.

The entry fee was €10, and thisincluded a bus which was provided to transport runners from Cappoquin GAA grounds to the start at Villierstown.
It was a very humid evening, and more than a few flies and midget than usual!

The signposted distance from Villerstown to Cappoquin was 4.75 miles, so the race started out the other side of the town, on the road down to Villierstown Quay.
Although the race was run entirely in daylight hours, we were soon into the the dim light of the tree lined roads of Dromana Woods. It was a bit unusual, to be running, with cars passing from behind with their headlights on. At the far side, there was a good view ahead, which showed the slower runners, how far ahead the elite runners were.
As runners were arriving
in Cappoquin, the local festival was taking place, including music, dancing, and boxing exhibitions.

There were some well appreciated refreshments afterwards at The Central Bar, Cappoquin, including a Birthday Cake for the young lady presenting the prizes!

1 Philip Harty, West Waterford AC 25.30
2 Brian Murphy, Carrick AC 26.06
3 Raivis Zakis, West Waterford AC 26.40
4 Danny Smith, Ballynonty 27.06
5 Dzintars Klava, West Waterford AC 27.09
6 Frank Quinlan, Waterford AC 27.42
7 Rory Moloney, West Waterford AC 28.15
8 Kevin Kenneally, West Waterford AC 28.19
9 Tadhg Cronin 28.45
10 Gary O’ Sullivan, Grange Fermoy 29.11
Junior Damian Murphy 29.43

Team Results
1st West Waterford: Martin McCarthy, Johnny O'Connor, Trevor Mason, Martin Hayes
2nd West Waterford: Liam Budds, Andrew Leary, Joe Gough, John Leahy
3rd Carrick AC: David Waters, Tommy Falconer, Martin Murphy, Patrick Roche

1 Pauline Lambe, Waterford AC 29.20 (Course Record)
2 Martina Dwyer, Carrick AC 30.29
3 Norma Wall, West Waterford AC 31.26
4 Cait Caulfield, Waterford AC 32.36
5 Corinna Walsh, West Waterford AC 33.06
Junior Kate Nolan, Waterford AC 39.59

Team Result
1st Waterford AC: Joan Mahony, Diane Behan, Liz Nolan, Gabrielle Blaire

The next race in this series is the Glaxosmithkline 5 race, which takes place in two weeks time in Dungarvan at 8pm on Friday 9th July 2010.

With thanks to James Veale, West Waterford AC for the above results, and photographs.


Anonymous said...

€10 dont know who you paid alot of us only paid €8 great race as usual10/10

Anonymous said...

yes the entry was 8 euro as the bus was laid on by the organisers free of charege.THE BUS MADE TWO TRIPS TO THE START LINE ON THE NIGHT.

Anonymous said...

thats what i thought alright was thinking it was only €8 very well run race.