Monday, July 19, 2010

Kilkenny...Results of the Piltown 10k - Fri 16 Jul 2010

The full results of this race are now up on the Carrick AC web-site.
There are also some photos, which seem to show there was some good weather :)

More details from Catherine O'Donovan at the organizers...

Last week was the third race in the Outfield Sports Three Counties Challenge ,the race moved to the county of Kilkenny for the Morris Oil Piltown 10k road race. It is an ideal venue for the 10k race as it is mainly a flat course which gave many runners a chance of achieving a PB. The race started in the scenic grounds of Kildalton College and progressed through some of Piltown's quiet country roads before eventually finishing back in Kildalton College which the club also uses for our winter league. This year's Morris Oil Piltown 10k had another fine turnout with 170 runners taking part, which was up on last year's race numbers, there were also a number of walkers taking part on the night.

The race was won by Sandis Bralitis (West Waterford AC) in an impressive time of 31.56. He was closely followed by Brian Murphy (Carrick AC ) 32.25 and in third place was Ruairi O'Donnell of (Limerick AC) 33.41. The men's team prize went to Carrick AC for the third time in this year's series (Michael Murphy, Martin Murphy, David Waters). The battle was on in the ladies race as (Clonmel AC's) Angela McCann took first prize in 37.41, Martina O Dwyer (Carrick AC) was second 37.59 and third place went to Diane Behan (Waterford AC) 40.31. The women's team prize went to West Waterford (Josie Churrin, Catriona Kiely, Onra Power).

The race was kindly sponsored by Morris Oil to whom the club is grateful to for doing so and for the prize giving, a sincere note of thanks to them for their support. Thanks to Piltown GAA Complex for the use of their facilities and support each year, the complex was also used for post race refreshments and prize giving. The club would also like to thank Outfield Sports for continued support and the Red Cross for their assistance at each race.Thanks to all the stewards, members of the club who helped out with registration and results and everyone who helped out on the night .

The final race in the series is the AUTO POWER Rathgormac 5 Friday 6th August @ 7.30pm.

1.Sandis Bralitis (west Waterford AC) 31.56
2.Brian Murphy (Carrik-on-Suir AC) 32.25
3.Rauiri O Donnell (Limerick AC) 33.41
4.Kenny Curran (Ballynonty AC) 33.55
5.Danny Smith ( Ballynonty AC) 33.58

O/40 Valery Turcan (Clonmel AC) 35.11
O/45 Richard O Gorman (Clonmel AC) 37.36
O/50 Larry Lacey (St. Josephs AC) 36.53
O/55 Leslie Smith (Coolquill ) 40.48
O/60 Eddie Cahilan (Coolquill) 45.41

Team: (Carrick-on-Suir AC) Michael Murphy, Martin Murphy, David Waters.

1.Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) 37.41
2.Martina O Dwyer (Carrick-on-Suir AC) 37.59
3.Diane Behan (Waterford AC) 40.31
4.Mary Molloy ( Clonmel AC) 41.21
5.Sylvia Malone (Waterford AC) 42.08

O/35 Nicola Maunsell (Clonmel AC) 47.56
O/40 Tara O Donnell (Carrick-on-Suir AC) 49.15
O/45 Liz Nolan (Waterford AC) 43.00
O/50 Hazel Galloway (Clonmel AC) 52.41
O/55 Bernie Sexton (Carrick-on-Suir AC) 51.27

Team: (West Waterford AC) Josie Chuirrin, Catriona Keely, Onra Power.

Thanks to
Catherine O'Donovan for the above category results.

No comments: