Saturday, April 26, 2014

Tipperary...Results of the Faugheen 5k road race - Fri 25th Apr 2014

A total of 167 turned out for this years Faugheen 5k road race. As expected, the flat course lived up to expectations with the first 3 men breaking 16 minutes and the first 3 women breaking 18.

1 CIOBANU    SERGIU 15:02    4:51/M    Senior Men
2 SHEIL    NIALL 15:35    5:02/M    Senior Men
3 MALONEY    STUART 15:55 5:08/M    Senior Men

First 3 men...2nd - Niall Sheil (12) of St.Killians AC, 1st - Sergiu Ciobanu (87) of Clonliffe Harriers AC and 3rd - Stuart Maloney (191) of Mooreabbey Milers AC
17 O'DOHERTY    SIOBHAN 17:11 5:33/M    Senior Ladies
27 ANNAN    CLAIRE 17:55 5:47/M    Senior Ladies
29 MCCARTHY    MARIA 17:58 5:48/M    Ladies Over 35

First 3 women...3rd - Maria McCarthy of Farranfore-Maine Valley AC, 1st - Siobhan O'Doherty of Borrisokane AC and 2nd - Claire Annan of Carrick-on-Suir AC

The full results can be seen HERE

Report from the oganisers...Carrick Road Runners AC...
The 2014 Three Counties Challenge got off to the perfect start on Friday evening last in the beautiful village of Faugheen when 168 runners lined up for the second annual Bobby Fitzgerald Accounting 5k road race. This series, now in its eighth year, takes in races over distances from 5k to 10k in the three neighbouring counties of Tipperary, Waterford and Kilkenny. The forecast heavy rain held off for the race and runners made the most of the perfect conditions on a very flat, fast course with many personal best times being set.

As the field entered the village for the first time after about 1.5 km, Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) and Niall Sheil (St. Killians) had already moved to the front and the Clonliffe athlete pulled clear over the second half of the race for a clear-cut victory. Sergiu's winning time of 15:02 was a new course record, eclipsing the 15:17 set by Sandis Bralitis in last year's inaugural Faugheen 5k. Niall Sheil ran very well to take second place in 15:35 and Stuart Maloney (Moore Abbey Milers) took third prize in 15:55. Carrick AC's first finisher was Pat O' Sullivan whose fifteenth place finish in 17:04 earned him first prize in the O/45 category.

Receiving the Gerry Moran Cup for wining the Faugheen 5 km is Sergiu Cibanou (Clonliff Harriers) from race sponsor Sinead Dunne (Booby Fitzgerald Acounting) and Series Sponsor Alan Treacy ( Outfield
The ladies' race was won in emphatic fashion by Siobhan O' Doherty (Borrisokane) in a time of 17:10 which was also a new course record. Siobhan led from the early stages of the race and never looked like relinquishing her lead at any stage. There was a great battle for second place with Carrick AC's Claire Annan (17:55) getting the better of a sprint finish with Maria McCarthy (Farranfore Maine Valley). Last year's winner, Martina O' Dwyer (Carrick AC) finished right on their heels in fourth place.

Carrick AC would like to thank all who helped to make the race such a resounding success. We are particularly grateful to Bobby Fitzgerald for the generous race sponsorship by Fitzgerald Accounting, Carrick-on-Suir. The club would also like to thank Alan Treacy of Outfield Sports, Carrick-on-Suir, for the continued sponsorship of the overall series for the past eight years.

Receiving a Ron Hill T-shirt for winning the O-60 Catagory in the Faugheen 5KM  is recent World Vets Champion Joe Gough (West Waterford AC) from race sponsor Sinead Dunne (Booby Fitzgerald Acounting)
Our friends in Carrick-on-Suir Red Cross were once again on hand to provide the vital medical and ambulance services for the race and we are very grateful to Finola Walsh and the team for their assistance. Kevin O' Dee and his team of stewards ensured the safety of all over the race route and we are also very grateful to the Bartley family for providing parking facilities for the event.
Thanks to the many volunteers who helped with parking, registration and results. The post-race refreshments and prize-giving in Flemings Bar were greatly enjoyed by all and thanks to Margaret Fleming for looking after everybody so well and to Elaine Walsh for providing the wonderful food.
The second race in this year's series will be the O' Neill Pharmacy Tom Jordan Memorial 5-mile race in Portlaw, Co. Waterford on Friday, 9th May at 7:30pm.

Faugheen 5k winners:
Senior Men ; 1. Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) 15:02 2. Niall Sheil (St. Killians) 15:35 3. Stuart Maloney (Moore Abbey Milers) 15:55
O/40 : David Ryan (Clonmel AC) 16:02
O/45: Pat O' Sullivan (Carrick AC) 17:04
O/50 : Derek Nolan (Clonmel AC) 17:52
O/55 : Jim St John (Clonmel AC) 20:26
O/60 : Joe Gough ( West Waterford AC) 17:57
Junior : Simon Dennonnain 17:46
Senior Ladies :
1. Siobhan O' Doherty (Borrisokane) 17:10 2. Claire Annan (Carrick AC) 17:53 3. Maria McCarthy (Farranfore Maine Valley) 17:56
O/35 : Martina O' Dwyer (Carrick AC) 17:59
O/40 : Suzanne Dallaghan (Waterford AC) 19:36
O/45 : Onra Power (West Waterford AC) 24:28
O/50 : Maura O' Neill (Carrick AC) 23:07
O/55 : Assumpta Kirwan 25:02
Junior : Leanne O' Hara 25:39

Jody Condon (106) and Martin Kiely (184) of Waterford AC with Mark Cliffe (136) of West Waterford AC

1) There is a small gallery of photos from the orgnisers HERE

No comments: