Sunday, July 20, 2014

Tipperary...Results of the Clerihan 5 mile road race - Fri 18th July 2014

A record 276 runners turned out for this years Clerihan 5 mile road race in Tipperary. 

1    ANDREW CONNICK    FERRYBANK AC    SM    25:26    1st Man
2    DAVID RYAN    CLONMEL AC    SM    26:52    2nd Man
3    IRIN O BYRNE    WATERFORD AC    SM    26:55    3rd Man
16    MADELINE LOUGHANE    THURLES CROKES AC    SF    30:47    1st Lady
19    CLARE ANNAN    CARRICK ON SUIR A C    SF    30:59    2nd Lady
26    ANGELA MCCANN    CLONMEL AC    F40    31:16    3rd lady

The full results can be seen HERE

1) Tipperary Photos have a gallery on their Facebook page HERE

Report from Clonmel AC...The Clerihan 5 mile road race took place in warm conditions last night and attracted a record entry of 276 athletes. This was a fitting tribute as this race also honoured two of Clonmel Athletic Club's finest athletes, Laura Taylor and Joe Grinsell.

The competition at the front of the field was very keen with Andrew Connick of Ferrybank going well clear as they approached the first water station. He kept that strong pace going all the way to win in a brilliant time of 25 mins 26 secs. This brilliant performance by Andrew also broke the old record of 25:59 set by Michael Harty of East Cork last year, a great performance.

There was a good ding dong battle for 2nd spot from early on between David Ryan (Clonmel) and Erin O Byrne (Waterford) with David edging it close to the line to finish 2nd in 26:52. To add to his fine performance, he was absolutely delighted to win the Joe Grinsell Perpetual Shield as the 1st County man home. For the record Erin's time was 26:55.

In the Ladies race Madeline Loughnane of Thurles Crokes ran very well to win in 30 mins 47 secs with Clare Annan of Carrick on Suir 2nd in 30 mins 59 secs and Angela McCann of Clonmel 3rd in 31:16. Madeline was also the winner of the Laura Taylor Perpetual Shield as the 1st County lady finisher.

The other category winners were Men over 40 Gerard O Loughlin Carrick on Suir 29:41, men over 45 Conor Fleming Clonmel AC 29:56, men over 50 John Walsh Clonmel AC 31:02, Men over 55 Tommy Cahill Clonmel AC 33:29, Men over 60 John Foley West Waterford 38:55.

The Ladies categories were won by Catherine Rice Clonmel AC 1st 0/35 35:32, Yvonne O Connor Clonmel Ac 1st 0/40 36:41, Martina Ryan Thurles Crokes 1st 0/45 34:24, Bernie Hopkins Clonmel AC 41:34 and Nellie Ryan Kildare 1st 0/60 71:37.

The organising committee would like to thank everyone who helped to make this event such a brilliant success.

No comments: