Tuesday, February 28, 2023

Results & photos of the Adare 10k - Sun 26th Feb 2023

The annual Adare 10k road race was held on Sunday the 26th of February 2023 and attracted a field of 773 runners. This race sold out months ago and is one of the most popular events in Limerick.

Top 3 men & women...
1 William MAUNSELL 30:32 10 MS Clonmel A.C.
2 Niall SHANAHAN 30:44 4 M40 An Bru A.C.
3 John KINSELLA 31:50 9 M40 Bilboa A.C.
1 Ide NIC DHOMHNAILL 33:59 7 FS West Limerick A.C.
2 Mary MULHERNE 34:44 704 FS Portlaoise A.C.
3 Kate MCDONALD 36:43 2 FS Ballyroan Abbeyleix & District A.C

Full results HERE

1) Eamon Doody took about 800 photos.
Album 1 ... Album 2 ... Album 3 ... Album 4

Report from West Limerick AC

Curtins Londis Adare 10k 2023

On Sunday we had the 29th year of our club Adare 10k. West Limerick Athletics Club would like to thank our main sponsor David Curtin and all of our other sponsors, volunteers, Gardai, Red Cross, the village of Adare and our race entrants for making Adare 10k 2023 such a special and memorable race event.

The race was sold out in one week in October which just shows how highly anticipated our race has become. Sunday was a perfect day for racing and runners from all over the country converged on Adare for what has become one of the premier club races in Munster.

At 1pm we were under starters orders. The elite runners set off at a blistering pace, the smiles at the finish line were gone and it was time to go to work. The support of the local , stewards and race supporters helped everyone around the challenging route.

It would become a day where both winners had family connections to past winners. William Maunsell was the overall winner in 30:31. His brother Kevin won in 2020 setting a course record at the time of 30:18. They are the second set of brothers to become winners , following in the footsteps of the famous Power brothers from Co.Clare. Dermot won in 1997 and Seamus in 2003. 

Ide Nic Dhomhnaill was the winner in the ladies race. Ide set a course record of 33:59 while winning and took home our Corn na mBan for first West Limerick woman to cross the finish line. Ide’s sister Sorcha has won Adare 10k twice previously in 2017 and 2020.

The top three men were William Maunsell Clonmel A.C. 30:31, Niall Shanahan An Bru A.C. 30:42 and John Kinsella Bilboa A.C. 31:50

The top three women were Ide Nic Dhomhnaill West Limerick A.C. 33:59, Mary Mulhare Portaoise A.C. 34:44 and Kate McDonald Ballyroan Abbeyleix & District A.C. 36:42.

The winners of the team prizes were West Limerick A.C. men and Dooneen A.C. ladies.

Thank you also to our volunteer race pacers on the day. We had Dermot Kearns & Sean Cunningham for 40 minutes, Mark Lenihan, Martin Lyons & Kieran Carr for 45 minutes, Sheila Clavin & George O Sullivan for 50 minutes, Eddie O Sullivan & Sean McAuliffe for 55 minutes, Ger Meehan & Mark Ryan for 60 minutes.

A final thank you to everyone who ran yesterday, those who come back year after year and make our club fundraising race so special.

Thursday, February 23, 2023

Notice: IMRA Trail race in Torc Woods nr Killarney - Sun 26th Feb 2023

IMRA are organising an 8km trail race in Torc Woods near Killarney on Sunday the 26th of February at 11am. This event has a total ascent of 300m and would be suitable for anyone that can comfortably run 10 miles / 16kms on the road.

DATE: Sunday 26 February, 2023 
TIME: 11:00
CLIMB (M): 300
RACE MARKING: Only major junctions marked - Only major junctions marked
ENTRY CLOSES:2023-02-25 18:00:00
ENTRY COST: €7 for seniors, €5 for over 65s and under 18s

ROUTE DESCRIPTION: Runners will start just after the barrier and ease into a steady climb for 800m on forest double track before starting a 2.5k descent on a steep grassy hill and turning onto the Queens Drive past Killegy Lodge. From here, slot left into the wood on "Lemmings" single track . Hairpin left ,then more steep downhill double track running before turning hairpin right for more level ground. Turn left past a natural reservoir into single track woods and meandering through the "Pine Needles" trail, then left again for a short distance before slotting right towards "Queens Drive" From here , the fun starts with a nice steady uphill before turning left into the woods to ascend "Murphs Trail". Nice 200m lung buster in the middle of this and then a lovely mossy downhill through a stream and right onto "Mossy Farm" double track which continues right and carries you back towards Killegy Lodge again. Continue back the way you came, up the hill but this time turn right and next left to climb "Bombholes". Another wee lung buster. It's all downhill upon turning right and right again on double track before square left and the final 800m to the finish just next to the carpark. Double track can be muddy if wet but is quite level. Single tracks tend not to be as muddy except for Bomeholes but roots will be treacherous on all. And we are planning on having junior/kids race too


Sunday, February 5, 2023

Results & Photos of the Dungarvan 10-mile road race - Sun 5th Feb 2023

First place finish for William Maunsell

Over 2,700 runners took part in this years John Treacy Dungarvan 10-mile race race and in terms of the weather, it was one of the best ever. There are loads of of photos to follow...

The first woman home in this years John Treacy Dungarvan 10-mile road race was Irish international cross country runner Mary Mulhare of Portlaoise AC

Top 10 men & women...

1 William MAUNSELL 00:49:52 3496 M MS Clonmel A.C.
2 David MCCARTHY 00:51:04 3467 M MS West Waterford AC
3 Conor MCCAULEY 00:51:26 1855 M MS
4 Neil WIKTORSKI 00:51:39 684 M MS Solid Running
5 Jamie GAHAN 00:52:06 1836 M M40 Kilkenny City Harriers
6 Mossy BRACKEN 00:52:28 27 M MS Moycarkey Coolcroo AC
7 Pat FITZGERALD 00:52:31 437 M MS Waterford AC
8 Noel MURPHY 00:52:40 1699 M MS Waterford AC
9 Donal COAKLEY 00:52:40 410 M MS Leevale AC
10 John MEADE 00:53:25 3472 M M40 St Finbarrs AC
1 Mary MULHARE 00:55:48 3389 F FS Portlaoise AC
2 Sally FORRISTAL 00:59:34 2226 F FS St Joesphs AC
3 Aoife O'LEARY 01:00:19 3392 F F40 Sportsworld RC
4 Lauren DERMODY 01:00:56 2002 F FS Castlecomer AC
5 Angela MCCANN 01:01:49 2582 F F50 Clonmel AC
6 Adele WALSH 01:02:11 2372 F F45 St Senans AC
7 Catherine MURPHY 01:02:21 2040 F F45 Eagle AC
8 Linda O'SULLIVAN 01:02:24 2303 F F50 Watergrasshill AC
9 Shona KEANE 01:02:39 3268 F F40
10 Jean LUCEY 01:03:02 2989 F F35

Full results HERE


1) There are loads of photos going up on the Running in Cork Facebook page
a) Some pre-race photos HERE
b) Just after the start HERE
c) Finishers under 59:18 HERE