Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Waterford...Results of the Old Parish Turkey Trot - Sun 27th Nov 2016

144 runners turned out for this years Old Parish 5 mile charity run on Sunday the 27th of November 2016.
Winner of old parish turkey trot Damien Murphy being presented with his prize by John Curran of Clean zone Technology
Cleanzone Technoloy Ltd...Paddy Joe Curran Memorial Turkey Trot

1 Damian MURPHY West Waterford AC 00:26:43
2 Danny SMYTH Ballynonty AC 00:28:03
3 Nigel SHEEHAN Youghal AC 00:28:05
1 Kate VEALE West Waterford AC 00:32:45
2 Sinead BRANNIGAN Waterford AC 00:33:31
3 Deirdre ANSBRO Youghal AC 00:34:12

The full results can be seen HERE
Race report from West Waterford AC...


The 8th annual Old Parish Turkey Trot took place last Sunday morning. Conditions were ideal with any overnight frost having cleared leaving the hilly scenic course ready for the 12 o’clock start. Sincere thanks go to all the crew who were out early in the morning checking the course and ensuring that it was safe for all the runners and especially to all the stewards who manned the course. A total of 160 runners and around 120 walkers took part which was testament to the hard work put in by the race committee at the Marine headed up by Padraig Healy.The generosity of the runners, walkers and locals and the sponsorship acquired meant that €3,740 was raised for SERT (South East Radiotherapy trust) which is a worthy local charity that provides essential transport to cancer patients requiring radiotherapy treatment. Everyone involved should be very proud to have raised such a huge amount for an important local charity.

Elizabeth Walsh spoke on behalf of SERT at the prize presentation and told us a little of that organisation and the great work they do. She also thanked everyone for supporting the event. The organisers of the race sincerely thanked and acknowledged the support of all involved. The late Paddy Joe Curran who got this race underway 8 years ago would have been thrilled to see the support on the day. As a way of remembering Paddy Joe, who was our club president for years, his family donated a cup in his memory which is presented to the winner of this race every year.

The overall race winner and recipient of the Paddy Joe Curran Perpetual Cup was Damien Murphy of West Waterford AC in an excellent 26.43 on what is the more difficult 5 mile races in the area. He was presented with the cup by Lilly-Anne McGill, who is Grandniece of Paddy Joe. In second place was Danny Smyth of Ballynonty AC in 28.03 followed closely in third by Nigel Sheehan of Youghal AC. It was a dominant run by Damien who set a very hard pace from early on when clocking a very quick first mile of 4.53. At this stage he had opened a large gap on the field which he was never going to lose.

In the ladies race, the honours went to Kate Veale of West Waterford AC in 32.43 who defended the title she won last year. In 2nd was Sinead Brannigan of Waterford AC in 33.31 followed in third by Deirdre Ansbro of Youghal AC.The race was a huge success thanks to the contribution to all involved, the local stewards, Liam in the van, Conor and Jamie for looking after the course and to Breda, Shirley, Tony and Liam who looked after the entries and the times and to Irene on the camera.

Our sincere word of thanks must go to our hosts Helen and Christy O’ Neill who provided the hot refreshments and food for all the runners and they made sure that we were all well looked after, thanks so much. The race organisers would like to sincerely thank Ger Duhig and Johnny Curran of Cleanzone Technology Ltd for their generous sponsorship of the race and also O'Mahony Business Advisors, The Marine Bar, Munster Signs and Print, McGrath's News Agent, Murray’s pharmacy, Kevin Forde of Daybreak Shop/ Topaz Garage, Country Store Fruit and Veg, Tom Drohan Funeral Directors, Flahavans, Community Radio Youghal, Seanachai Bar and Restaurant, Dungarvan Brewing Company and Tommy Kiely Car Sales. Finally again to the great committee effort at the Marine a very well done all.

No comments: