Monday, July 4, 2022

Notice: Coillte 10k road race, Dundrum, Tipperary - Wed 6th July 2022

This popular 10k race in coming up in the village of Dundrum, Co.Tipperary on Wednesday the 6th of July 2022. In terms of fast 10k courses, this must surely be one of the fastest in Munster if not the country.

ENTRIES - You can enter online HERE

Entries close 11pm 4th July.


Dundrum is a small village just 9 miles / 15kms or so west of Cashel in the south of Tipperary...

Organised by Dundrum Athletic Club, this race is noted for being a flat fast course. As well of there being no hills, the course consists of multiple long straight sections rather than the more usual twists and turns. I've previewed many courses on this site but this one is really fast.

The map below shows where everything is. For spectators...note the points A, B and C. If you move between these points which are just over 100m apart you can see the athletes at approx. 0.25miles , 2.4miles, 3.2miles and again at 5.4miles.

Course Preview......The 10k course is essentially two laps of a 5k loop. A full preview of the course with maps, description, photos, etc can be seen HERE

Many races have different traditions. Some give out t-shirts, some mugs. In the case of the Coillte 10k, they give out a quality embroidered hand towel given to every finisher. and they have been doing this for over 20 years. Even on years where they had run out of towels on the night, they hand delivered them to these people in the following weeks.

The Tim Crowe Trophy is presented on the night to the first Tipperary Athlete in honour of his 24 national titles won in the early 1900s, who was from the village of Dundrum.

There is also a large spread of refreshments after race.

Useful links...
Updates on club Facebook page

and on the club Twitter page

Course Record Holders
Senior Men Daniel Gidumbanda Tanzania 1997 29:45,
O/40 Men John Kinsella Bilboa 2021 32:15
O/45 Men Kieran McKeown Watergrasshill 2021 33:39
O/50 Men Paul Moran Rathfarnham AC 2016 34:12,
O/55 Men Michael Hassett Killenaule 2015 35:15,
O/60 Men John Collins Leevale 2019 39:38
O/65 Men James O'Sullivan Tipperary Town 2021 40:31
O/70 Men Andrew Jeyes Ivanhoe 2018 44:04,
Junior Men 5k Darren Dunne Nenagh Olympic 2016 15:12,

Senior Women Lizzie Lee 2021 33:45,
O/40 Women Mary Sheehan Grange 2003 39:24,
O/45 Women Rosaleen MacKeown Leevale 2021 38:56,
O/50 Women Angela McCann Clonmel 2021 37:21,
O/55 Women Dorothy Ryan Country Club 2016 45:01,
O/60 Women Carmel MacDomhnaill West Limerick 2018 51:13,
O/65 Women Sally Jeyes Ivanhoe 2018 56:47,
Junior Women 5k Louise Stack Portloaise AC 2016 19:05,

Wheelchair Cillian Dunne Borrisokane 2019 28:20

5 Fastest Times

29:45 Daniel Gidumbanda  Tanzania 1997
30:19 Sergiu Ciobanu Clonliffe Harriers AC 2021
30:33 Evan Fitzgerald Clonmel AC 2021
30:39 Niall Shanahan An Bru AC 2021
30:47 Mick Clohisey Raheny Shamrocks AC 2021

33:45 Lizzie Lee Leevale AC 2021
34:28 Rosemary Ryan Bilboa 2003
34:43 Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane 2010
34:54 Rosemary Ryan Bilboa 2011
35:07 Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane 2012

List of Previous Winners
1986 John O'Halloran Tipp Town // Kathleen Maher Ballytrasna,
1987 John Fitzgerald Clonmel // Mary Lonergan Reenavana,
1988 Toddy Finn Raheny Shamrocks // Kay O'Sullivan Upperchurch,
1989 Bernard Feery Clonmel // Martina Dorney Thurles Crokes,
1990 Robert Costello Limerick // Kay O'Sullivan Upperchurch,
1991 Michael Hassett Thurles Crokes // Mary Sheehan East Cork,
1992 Robert Costello Limerick // Mary Sheehan East Cork,
1993 Michael Hassett St. Catherines // Mary Sheehan East Cork,
1994 Michael Hassett St. Catherines // Gaile Culleton Thurles Crokes,
1995 Michael Hassett St. Catherines // Marcella Moloney Tullamore Harriers,
1996 Michael Hassett St. Catherines // Siobhan McCormack Emerald A.C.,
1997 Daniel Gidumbanda Tanzania // Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
1998 Michae1 Hassett St. Catherines // Mary Sheehan East Cork,
1999 Colm Burke St. Abbans // Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
2000 William Harty K.C.K // Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
2001 Robert Wade Waterford A.C // Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
2002 Pat Byrne Tinryland // Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
2003 Tom Carey Limerick A.C // Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,
2004 Mick Kelly Gowran A.C // Siobhan O'Doherty Borrisokane,
2005 Sandis Bralitis Ballynonty A.C // Siobhan O'Doherty Borrisokane,
2006 Tom Carey Limerick A.C // Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,
2007 Dermot Kearns West Limerick // Madeline Dorney Thurles Crokes,
2008 Jason Fahey Olympic Harriers // Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,
2009 Tommy Evans Gowran // Siobhan O'Doherty Borrisokane,
2010 Seamus Power Kilmurray Ibrickane // Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane,
2011 Kenneth Rogers St John’s // Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,
2012 Michael Shannon Kilnaboy // Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane,
2013 Chris Bracken Thurles Crokes // Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.
2014 Kevin Moore Dundrum // Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.
2015 Stephen Hunter St. Michaels // Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.
2016 Declan Moore Bilboa AC // Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.

2017 David Mansfield Clonliffe Harriers // Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.
2018 Freddy Keron Sittuk Kenya // Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.
2019 David Mansfield Clonmel AC // Siobhan O'Doherty Borrisokane AC
2020 Kevin Moore Dundrum AC // Dymphna Ryan Dundrum AC (Virtual)
2021 Sergiu Ciobanu Clonliffe Harriers AC  // Lizzie Lee Leevale AC

No comments: