Tuesday, February 28, 2023

Results & photos of the Adare 10k - Sun 26th Feb 2023

The annual Adare 10k road race was held on Sunday the 26th of February 2023 and attracted a field of 773 runners. This race sold out months ago and is one of the most popular events in Limerick.

Top 3 men & women...
1 William MAUNSELL 30:32 10 MS Clonmel A.C.
2 Niall SHANAHAN 30:44 4 M40 An Bru A.C.
3 John KINSELLA 31:50 9 M40 Bilboa A.C.
1 Ide NIC DHOMHNAILL 33:59 7 FS West Limerick A.C.
2 Mary MULHERNE 34:44 704 FS Portlaoise A.C.
3 Kate MCDONALD 36:43 2 FS Ballyroan Abbeyleix & District A.C

Full results HERE

1) Eamon Doody took about 800 photos.
Album 1 ... Album 2 ... Album 3 ... Album 4

Report from West Limerick AC

Curtins Londis Adare 10k 2023

On Sunday we had the 29th year of our club Adare 10k. West Limerick Athletics Club would like to thank our main sponsor David Curtin and all of our other sponsors, volunteers, Gardai, Red Cross, the village of Adare and our race entrants for making Adare 10k 2023 such a special and memorable race event.

The race was sold out in one week in October which just shows how highly anticipated our race has become. Sunday was a perfect day for racing and runners from all over the country converged on Adare for what has become one of the premier club races in Munster.

At 1pm we were under starters orders. The elite runners set off at a blistering pace, the smiles at the finish line were gone and it was time to go to work. The support of the local , stewards and race supporters helped everyone around the challenging route.

It would become a day where both winners had family connections to past winners. William Maunsell was the overall winner in 30:31. His brother Kevin won in 2020 setting a course record at the time of 30:18. They are the second set of brothers to become winners , following in the footsteps of the famous Power brothers from Co.Clare. Dermot won in 1997 and Seamus in 2003. 

Ide Nic Dhomhnaill was the winner in the ladies race. Ide set a course record of 33:59 while winning and took home our Corn na mBan for first West Limerick woman to cross the finish line. Ide’s sister Sorcha has won Adare 10k twice previously in 2017 and 2020.

The top three men were William Maunsell Clonmel A.C. 30:31, Niall Shanahan An Bru A.C. 30:42 and John Kinsella Bilboa A.C. 31:50

The top three women were Ide Nic Dhomhnaill West Limerick A.C. 33:59, Mary Mulhare Portaoise A.C. 34:44 and Kate McDonald Ballyroan Abbeyleix & District A.C. 36:42.

The winners of the team prizes were West Limerick A.C. men and Dooneen A.C. ladies.

Thank you also to our volunteer race pacers on the day. We had Dermot Kearns & Sean Cunningham for 40 minutes, Mark Lenihan, Martin Lyons & Kieran Carr for 45 minutes, Sheila Clavin & George O Sullivan for 50 minutes, Eddie O Sullivan & Sean McAuliffe for 55 minutes, Ger Meehan & Mark Ryan for 60 minutes.

A final thank you to everyone who ran yesterday, those who come back year after year and make our club fundraising race so special.

No comments: