Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Limerck......Results of the Dromcollogher 4 mile road race - Mon 4th July 2011

This was the 3rd race in the Ballyhoura Active series and it attracted a turnout of 144, well up on recent years. Just 2 years ago in 2009, the numbers were down in the low 50's so this is an impressive number in comparison.

Race report by West Limerick AC.....
Dromcollogher Road Race............The Dromcollogher festival committee and the West Limerick Athletic Club members who worked together in organizing this race were delighted with the numbers who turned out last Monday evening. It was run over the four mile course with the finish in the Square where the carnival atmosphere was wonderful. It is very unusual nowadays to have all the amusements right in the heart of a town. 
Tracey Roche, Dooneen AC, was the winner of the women’s race in a great time of 23:30 ahead of Veronica Colleran, Ennis Track, 25:27 and Loretto Duggan, St. Mary’s Clare, 27:24.
In the men’s event we had a ding-dong battle up front between North Cork man, Michael Herlihy, Kilnaboy runner Michael Shannon and Gneeveguilla’s Ed Murphy. Over the last mile it was Herlihy who proved strongest finishing in 20:12 with Shannon second in 20:28 and Murphy in 20:56. Then came Martin Doody, Limerick, 21:21, Tim O’Connor, Ríocht, 21:46 and Aogán Mac Domhnaill, West Limerick, 21:49.
Female category winners were Deirdre Mc Carthy, Christina Organ, Carmel Mac Domhnaill and Jade Ryan(Junior).
Male winners were Mike Mc Auliffe, Mike Cunningham, Donncha Brosnan, Con O’Brien and TJ Buckley. The junior winner was Tim Keane, North Cork, in 25:37.
Gerry Forde was the winner of the wheelchair section.

The full results can be seen HERE

There is a gallery of photos from Ballyhoura Failte HERE

Please note that the next race in the Ballyhoura active series is on Sunday, the 10th of July at 12 noon. It is a new race in Kilworth Camp just to the north of Fermoy in north-east Cork. More details later on the Running in Cork website.

No comments: