Saturday, May 11, 2013

Waterford...Results of the Portlaw 5 mile road race - Fri 10th May 2013

There was a huge turnout of 249 runners for this years 5 mile road race in Portlaw, a jump of 45% on the 2012 figure.

1. Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) 24:43
2. Philip Harty (West Waterford AC) 25:56
3. Ravis Zakis (West Waterford AC) 26:16
1. Dympna Ryan (Dundrum AC) 29:26  
2. Jackie Carthy  (Kilmore AC) 29:39  
3. Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) 29:44

The full results can be seen HERE

Report from Carrick Road Runners AC......O'Neill Pharmacy Tom Jordan Memorial 5-mile

The 2013 Three Counties Challenge moved to Portlaw, Co. Waterford on Friday evening last when a field of 249 runners lined up for the O' Neill Pharmacy Tom Jordan 5-mile road race.This was the fifth running of this popular race but the first time that it has formed part of the Three Counties Challenge organised by Carrick-on-Suir AC.The record turnout reflects the popularity of this series which is now in its seventh year. Conditions on the evening were quite cold and blustery, but there were lots of very fast times and many athletes achieved a personal best time for the distance as the course is particularly flat and fast.

The men's race saw a very clearcut winner as Sergiu Ciobanu from Clonliffe Harriers covered the five miles in 24:43 and came home more than fifty seconds clear of the second-placed Philip Harty (West Waterford). Philip's clubmate, Ravis Zakis, took third place, ahead of Kevin Moore (Dundrum AC) and Ruairi O' Donnell (Ferrybank). Alban Coghlan, who is a native of Carrick-on-Suir,but runs for Crusaders AC finished in sixth place. The first Carrick AC member to finish was Patrick Roche in ninth place with a time of 27:54.

The ladies' race was a cracking contest as each of the first four finishers broke the 30-minute barrier. Victory went to Dympna Ryan (Dundrum AC) in a time of 29:26.  Second place went to Jackie Carthy from Kilmore AC (29:39) while Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) clocked 29:44 in taking third prize just six days after her victory in the Great Limerick Marathon. Carrick AC's Martina O' Dwyer was timed at 29:47 in fourth and Sylvia Malone (Waterford AC) was fifth in 31:10.
The team prizes were very closely contested with Carrick AC (Patrick Roche, Daragh Byrne and Michael Murphy) taking the men's prize. The Waterford AC trio of Joan Mahony, Claudia Merry and Sarah Lee won the ladies' prize.

Carrick AC would like to thank all who helped to make the race such a resounding success. Thanks to O' Neill Pharmacy, Portlaw, for the generous sponsorship of the race.The club would also like to thank Alan Treacy of Outfield Sports for the continued sponsorship of the overall series which has gone from strength to strength  over the past seven years.

Once again, Brian Nugent and the Portlaw Red Cross team pulled out all the stops with their superb organisation of the event. It has been through the dedication and hard work of Brian and his team that the race became established and all in Carrick AC are delighted to have the race as part of the summer series. A big thank-you to all of the thirty stewards who ensured the safety of the athletes and to all who helped with registration, timing, results and post-race refreshments at The Forge Bar .
The series moves back to County Tipperary next for the Carraig Hotel 'Deadman's 5' miles on Friday, June 7th with a 7:30pm start. Last year's renewal was won by Ruairi O' Donnell in 27:04 with Sylvia Malone (Waterford AC) taking the ladies' race in 31:09. With fields of 213 and 249 lining up for the first two races of the five-race series, another bumper entry is predicted for the 'Deadman's'.

O' Neill Pharmacy Tom Jordan Winners :

Senior Men : 1. Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) 24:43   2. Philip Harty (West Waterford AC) 25:56   3. Ravis Zakis (West Waterford AC) 26:16   4. Kevin Moore (Dundrum AC)  26:47    5. Ruairi O' Donnell (Ferrybank AC) 27:20
O/40 : David Kenneally (Thurles Crokes AC)
O/45: Michael Dunford (West Waterford AC)
O/50: Brendan Cronin
O/55: Leslie Smith (Coolquill AC)
O/60: Paschal Proctor (West Waterford AC)
Junior: Yves Lemaitre
Team: Carrick AC

Senior Ladies : 1. Dympna Ryan (Dundrum AC) 29:26  2. Jackie Carthy  (Kilmore AC) 29:39  3. Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) 29:44  4. Martina O' Dwyer (Carrick AC)  29:47   5. Sylvia Malone (Waterford AC) 31:10
O/35: Maedbh Savage (Waterford AC)
O/40: Suzanne Dullaghan (Waterford AC)
O/45: Ann Dunford (West Waterford)
O/50: Gabrielle Blair (Waterford AC)
O/55: Bernie Sexton (Carrick AC)
Junior: Jennifer Rice (Fethard)
Team: Waterford AC

Photos...(Updated 8pm Sun 12th May)
1) Some photos can be seen HERE
2) John Coleman has a large gallery HERE

No comments: