Saturday, July 13, 2013

Waterford...Results of the Rathgormack 5 mile road race - Fri 12th July 2013

Rathgormack 5 Mile 2013...Friday 12 July 2013. This was the 4th race of 5 in the ongoing Three Counties Challenge organised by Carrick AC.

Place Time Name Team Race Age Category min/mile No
1  24:57 CIOBANU, Sergiu Clonliffe Harriers Senior Men 04:59.8
2  26:08 ZAKIS, Ravis West Waterford Senior Men 05:14.0
3  26:43 MURPHY, Brian Carrick AC Senior Men 05:21.0
12  31:17 MCCANN, Angela Clonmel AC Ladies Over 40 06:15.9
14  31:35 O'DWYER, Martina Carrick AC Ladies Over 35 06:19.5
28  34:59 FORRISTAL, Sally St Josephs Senior Ladies 07:00.3

The full results can be seen HERE

Race report from the organisers Carrick AC...
Three Counties Challenge. The heat did not inconvenience pre-race favourite, Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers), who made his intentions clear from the outset and set a blistering early pace. As the runners passed through the village with a mile completed, Sergiu already enjoyed a clear lead over Ravis Zaikis (West Waterford) and Brian Murphy (Carrick AC). This lead was never to be relinquished - in fact, Sergiu stormed further clear for a spectacular win and set a new course record of 24:57 in the process. Ravis and Brian maintained their positions to take second and third prizes, clocking 26:08 and 26:43 respectively. In the ladies' race there was a more closely fought contest for first place with Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) just getting the better of Martina O' Dwyer (Carrick AC) ahead of St. Joseph's AC runner, Sally Forristal.

Carrick AC would like to thank all who helped in organising this year's race and making it such a success. Thanks to all who undertook stewarding duties and helped with registration and race timing and results. Special thanks to Finola Walsh and the Carrick-on-Suir Red Cross team for providing medical backup at all our races.

The club is also very grateful for the continued sponsorship of this race by AutoPower, Carrick-on-Suir and to Outfield Sports for sponsoring the overall series.

The 2013 series will come to its conclusion with the MorrisOil Piltown 10k race on Friday, August 2nd in Piltown, Co. Kilkenny. All runners who complete four of the five races in the series will receive a voucher for €25 off Adidas running shoes at Outfield Sports, Carick-on-Suir. Further details from Mark (086-1608165) or Susan (087-2931430)

AutoPower Rathgormack 5 Winners:
Senior Men: 1. Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) 24:57  2.  Ravis Zaikis (West Waterford) 26:08   3. Brian Murphy (Carrick AC) 26:43
O/40 : Michael O' Sullivan (Carrick)
O/45 : Ger Murray
O/50 : Walter Keane (Waterford AC)
O/55 :  Larry Lacey (St. Josephs AC)
O/60 : Joe Gough (West Waterford)
Team: Carrick AC - Patrick Roche, Derek Walsh and Tommy Falconer

Senior Ladies:  1. Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) 31:17  2. Martina O' Dwyer (Carrick AC) 31:35   3. Sally Forristal (St. Josephs) 34:59
O/35 : Mary Molloy
O/40 :  Diane Behan (Waterford AC)
O/45 :  Ann Dunford (West Waterford)
O/50 : Bernie Prendergast (West Waterford)
O/55 : Assumpta Kirwan
Team : Carrick AC - Emer O' Brien, Geraldine Houlihan and Ann Cronin

No comments: