Friday, August 1, 2014

Tipperary...Results of the Clogheen 5k road race - Thurs 31st July 2014

A  record 195 runners turned out for this years Clogheen 5k road race in South Tipperary, up 28% on the figure for 2013.

1    Niall McCormack    Clonmel AC    SM    15:18    1st Man
2    William Maunsell    Clonmel AC    SM    15:33    2nd Man
3    Kevin Maunsell    Clonmel AC    SM    15:46    3rd Man
15    Claire Annan    Carrick on Suir AC    SF    18:27    1st Lady
17    Madeline Loughnane    Thurles Crokes    SF    18:33    2nd lady
30    Aine Roche    Clonmel AC    SF    19:37    3rd lady

The full results can be seen HERE

Clonmel AC have a gallery on their Facebook page HERE

Race report from Clonmel AC.........The Clogheen 5k road race took place last night in ideal conditions which attracted a record entry of 195 athletes. 

Right from the start, there was a breakaway group of five athletes...Kevin Moore of Dundrum along with the Clonmel AC quartet of Niall McCormack, Davis Ryan and the Maunsell brothers William and Kevin. The pace was strong and the lead changed a number of times as the athletes reached the first mile in 5 mins 6 secs. Then Kevin Maunsell went to the front and increased the tempo with only Niall McCormack going with him and these two reached two miles in 9 mins 56 secs. At this stages Niall picked up the pace and on the return journey along the Ballylooby road he put in a 4 min 45 secs mile to open a good lead, a lead he held all the way to the line to win in a brilliant time of 15 mins 18 secs, just 18 secs outside the course record held by Gerry Ryan of Galway City Harriers in 2009 and the 5th fastest time ever over this course, brilliant running. Then we had a tussle between the Maunsell brothers as William caught Kevin over the final 1km to finish 2nd in 15 mins 33 secs with Kevin 3rd in 15 mins 46 secs. Then we had Kevin Moore of Dundrum finishing 4th in 16 mins 11 secs with Shane Mullaney of Thurles Crokes 5th Senior man in 16 mins 49 secs. 

In the over 40 awards David Ryan (Clonmel) ran very well to win in 16 mins 14 secs when 4th overall with Ger O Loughlin (Clonmel) 2nd in 18 mins 9 secs.
The other winners in the Men’s categories were 1st 0/45 Liam Casey (Clonmel) 18:25 with Willie O Connor (Galtee Runners) 2nd in 18:43, 1st 0/50 John Walsh (Clonmel) 19:03 and 2nd Tommy Moloney (Thurles Crokes) 19:07, 1st 0/55 was Tommy Cahill (Clonmel) 20:29, 1st 0/60 Matt Alexander (Coolquill) 20:36, 1st 0/65 Eddie Cahalan (Coolquill) 23:24and 1st 0/70 Myles McHugh (Clonmel) 25:24.The Junior men’s prize was won by Fionn Browne (Clonmel) 24:48. 

The Ladies race was also a very competitive event as Clare Annan (Carrick on Suir) and Madeleine Loughnane (Thurles Crokes) were stride for stride throughout the race and they both came into the village together and then over the final 100m Clare edged in front to win in 18 mins 27 secs with Madeline 2nd in 18 mins 33 secs. Aine Roche (Clonmel) was 3rd in 19:37.
The winners of the ladies categories were as follows: 1st 0/35 Elaine Walley (Ballymacarbry) 22:28 with Mary Morrison (Cahir) 2nd in 24:38, 1st 0/40 Siobhain McHugh (Unattached) 20:04 with Yvonne O Connor (Clonmel) 2nd in 21:42, 1st 0/45 Kathleen O Meara (Thurles Crokes) 24 mins and 1st 0/50 Eileen Hynes (Clonmel) 24:34. The Junior Ladies prize was won by Aine Carroll (Clonmel) in 26:34. 

The organising committee would like to thank everyone who helped to make this the most successful race to date.

No comments: