Sunday, July 24, 2016

Tipperary...Results of the Borrisoleigh Track Attack 5k - Thurs 14th July 2016

A total of 251 runners took part in this years Track Attack 5k in Borrisoleigh, a drop of almost 19% on the figure for 2015. As races go in Tipperary however, 251 is still a pretty respectable figure.

1    Sean Tobin    Clonmel A C        14:58    SM    38
2    Freddie Keron Stuk    Raheny Shamrocks        15:06    SM
3    Kevin Maunsell    Clonmel A C        15:31    SM
9    Siobhan O'Doherty    Borrisokane A C         16:42    SW
30    Margaret Danagher    Templemore A C         18:48    SW
35    Laura Tobin    Clonmel A C        19:08    SW

The full results can be seen HERE

1) The organisers has a number of small galleries...  Prize winners... Pre-race ... Finish Line 1 ... Finish Line 2 ... Finish Line 3 ... Finish Line 4 ... Race 1 ... Race 2 ... Race 3 ...

Report from the organisers... A huge thanks to all who competed in the third annual Borrisoleigh 5km last night. Despite the rain that greeted the event, we were treated to an excellent field of athletes from a brilliant array of clubs.

At the head of proceedings, a 5 man break blitzed the opening kilometres and it was obvious that the course record of 15:28 was going to stand no longer. The Clonmel duo of Kevin Maunsell and Sean Tobin were joined by Kenyan athlete Freddy Keron Stuk, Thurles Crokes man William Hughes and Kevin Moore from Dundrum.

As they approached the track down the finish straight, it was the American College based student Sean Tobin that crossed the line first in a brilliant time of 14:58, a full 30 seconds inside the previous record. Freddy was next in line clocking 15:06, reigning champion Kevin Maunsell was third in 15:31. William was next home in 15:46 while Kevin Moore continued his excellent season to date with a 15:46 finish.

Borrisokane's Siobhan O'Doherty ran a superb race from start to finish making it a hat-trick of victories in Borrisoleigh. She again smashed her previous best here in Borris and have now set a target of 16:42 to chase next year. Templemore's Margaret Danaher continues to excel returning home in another impressive time of 18:48.

There was a brilliant battle for the last podium place and it was Clonmel's Laura Tobin that climbed the third step for the second year running with a time of 19:08. She had to fight off the best efforts of St. Michael's Monica Corcoran and Dundrum's Linda Grogan however who crossed the line in times of 19:09 and 19:10 respectfully.

In the overage grades, Portlaoise A/C's Cyril Cuddy took the over 40's title in 16:26. Michael Moore from Dundrum took the over 50's title in 18:58 while first home in the over 60's was Leslie Smith of Coolquill A/C.

Monica Corcoran of St Michael's A/C took the over 40 women's crown in 19:09, Track-Attacker Kathleen O'Meara won the over 50's title in 23:57 while from near-by Upperchurch, Marion Gleeson took the Over 60's title in 36:12. 

No comments: