Monday, July 18, 2016

Tipperary...Results of the Coillte 10k road race, Dundrum - Wed 6th July 2016

There was a 25% jump in numbers for the Coillte 10k road race in Dundrum this year with 276 finishers crossing the finish line. A remarkable feature of this race is that there was a pretty high quality field with 26.8% breaking 40 minutes, up from 21% last year.

1    Declan Moore    Bilboa AC        32:38    SM    207
2    John Meade    St Finbarrs AC        33:08    SM    298
3    Martin Doody    Limerick AC        33:34    M40    243
41    Siobhan Doherty    Borrisokane        37:18    SW    190
82    Aine Roche    Clonmel AC        40:43    SW    257
84    Linda Grogan    Dundrum AC        40:47    SW    301

Results........The full results of the 10k race and the juvenile 5k race can be seen HERE

Dominic Moore presents the Tim Crowe trophy to Danny Smith Ballynonty AC for the first Tipperary athlete to finish the 10k road race in Dundrum.

New records set
Junior 5k...Darren Dunne Nenagh Olympic 15.12 (Old record was set by Jason Fahy 2004 15.20)

Junior 5k ladies...Louise Stack of Portlaoise AC set a new record of 19.05 (Old Record Siobhan O’Doherty 2001 19.08).

O/50 Men...Paul Moran Rathfarnham AC 34.12 (2nd O/50man also broke old record Aengus Burke 34.59) (old record Myles McHugh Clonmel 1996 35.18)

O/60 Men...James O’Sullivan Avondale 40.15 (Old record Billy O’Neill St. Abbans 2008 40.36)

Siobhan O’Doherty won her 9th title equaling the old record held by Cork Lady Mary Sheehan of Grange Fermoy who won 9 titles during the 90s/early 00s.


A breakdown of diversity of clubs in the race...
Dublin -                        Rathfarnham AC,
Waterford -                  Waterford AC,
Kilkenny -                    Gowran AC, St Joseph’s AC,
Clare -                         Ennis Track, Derg AC, BMOH AC,
Cork -                          East Cork AC, St Finbarrs AC, Galtee Runners, Mallow AC, St Nicholas AC,
Laois -                         Ballyfin AC, Ballyroan AC, Nuparc, Portlaoise AC, St Michaels AC, Mountmellick AC,
Limerick -                    Bilboa AC, Limerick AC, West Limerick AC, Limerick Country Club AC, Kilmallock AC, An Bru AC,
Tipperary -                  Ballynonty AC, Thurles Crokes AC, Ballydoyle Racing, Mooreabbey  Milers, Templemore AC, Clonmel AC, Dundrum AC, Moycarkey Coolcroo, St Catherines AC, Borrisokane AC, Tipperary Wheelers, Borrisoleigh Track Attack, Nenagh Olympic, Fethard AC, Moyne AC, Cashel Running Club,

Report from Dundrum AC.........Four New Records in Coillte Road Races Dundrum

Wednesday 6th July the annual Coillte 10k which also includes a 5k for Juniors was ran for the 31st time. On a good night for racing a huge field of over 300 runners went to the start line representing 44 different clubs. After a moments applause in memory of the late John Butler who was a great servant to the club and this race in the eighties and nineties. His son Pierce blew the whistle to set them on their way.
On the staggered start to accommodate the 5k distance Nenagh Olympic Junior Darren Dunne was gone from the whistle. Darren was never caught and came home in a course record time of 15:12 knocking eight seconds off the old record which had stood since 2004. Incredibly Darren also won this race in 2011 as a 14 year old in 17:35. The same applied to junior woman Louise Stack who came with the large contingent from Portlaoise AC. Louise was also gone from the whistle and came home in a magnificent time of 19:05 and in the process knock 3 seconds off the old junior record which has stood since 2001. Super running by both juniors and we will watch their progress with interest. Maybe someday they will return and become a member of the select few to win 5k and the 10k. Eddie Allen EMO/Rath in 18:18 and Domhnall O’Farrell Portlaoise18:48 were 2nd and 3rd respectively in the junior men. While Sorcha Moloney Ballyroan 20:38 and Poppy Hackett St Michael’s 21:30 took second and third in the junior women to ensure a midlands domination of the 5k

In the 10k Declan Moore Bilboa like the junior winners was again gone from the whistle. Declan who has been running very well of late came back into the village after one lap well clear of the field. He was pursued by a host of athletes nearly all from different clubs. Leading the charge was John Meade from St Finbarrs, Martin Doody Limerick, Brian Murphy Ennis Track, Danny Smith Ballynonty , Bernard McCullagh  Limerick and Trevor Power Waterford.

Declan kept the strong pace going out on the second lap to come home a very convincing winner in a time of 32:38 to add a new name to the winners list. Declan also became one of the select few to have won both races having won the Junior 5k in 2012. John ran on well to come home a clear second in 33:08. Brian Murphy held off Danny Smith for 3rd and 4th respectively in 33:41 and 33:45 respectively. Danny once again winning the Tim Crowe trophy for been the first Tipperary athlete to finish the 10k presented to him by the sponsor of the trophy Dominic Moore after the event. Bernard and Trevor finished two seconds apart in 33:51 and 33:53 for 5th and 6th respectively.

The category section had some tremendous battles with Martin Doody  Limerick 3rd overall and 1st over forty in 33:34 followed by Barry Minnock Nuparc in 34:03. Local man Dermot Hayes Dundrum kept the host club in the prizes with a great win in the over forty five section in 36:05 from Peter Madden Templemore in 37:09. Paul Moran Rathfarnham made the trip from Dublin and had a magnificent run to break the over fifty record by 66 seconds which had stood since 1996 finishing in 34:12. Aengus Burke from Portlaoise also broke the record when finishing 2nd in 34:59. Brian O’Reilly made his annual trip from Cavan to win the over fifty five section in 42:38. The last record on the night broken was by James O’Sullivan Tipperary Town who knocked 21 seconds off the old record for a great run and win in the over 60 section in a time of 40:15.
The women’s 10k had another clear win for Borrisokane’s Siobhan O’Doherty in 37:18 her 5th win in a row since 2012. Second and 3rd place had a tremendous battle between Clonmel’s Aine Roche and Dundrum’s Linda Grogan  with Aine getting the nod in 40:43 from Linda in 40:47 Linda knocking 91 seconds off her previous best time. Ali O’Connor St Finbarr’s 4th 42:09, Jean Mulcahy An Bru 5th 43:18 and Louisa Condon Thurles Crokes 6th 44:08 ensured six different clubs in the top six senior women placing.

The women categories had Aoife Carroll Mallow 1st over 35 in 43:07 with Karen Coughlan  Dundrum 2nd in 43:58. Monica Corcoran St Michaels was 1st over 40 in 41:19 from Phil Ryan Ballynonty 41:51. The evergreen Martina Ryan Thurles Crokes was 1st over 45 in 45:45 from Olwyn Larkin Portlaoise 2nd in 47:04. Anna Byrne Clonmel was 1st over 50 in 45:23. Dorothy Ryan Country Club was 1st over 55 in 45:01.While the teak tough Hilary Collins Coolquill was 1st over 60 in 55:02. Well done to all on a great nights racing.

No comments: