Sunday, January 30, 2011

Waterford...Results of the Dungarvan 10 - Sun 30 Jan 2011

More than 1000 people turned out for the Dungarvan 10, in bright and sunny, but rather cold conditions. This represents an increase of 63 over the 2010 finishers.

RESULTS.....The results are now online on the West Waterford AC site.

Chip timing was used for fast and accurate results. If you did not return your chip at finish line, or were unable to run today, please make arrangements to return your bib/chip.

The next race in the
John Buckley Sport Munster Spring Series will be the Ballycotton 10 on Sunday 6th march at 1.30pm (entries are now closed)

Bantry AC are holding the 2nd
Mealagh Valley 10 Mile race on Sunday 13 Feb 2011.
Entries limited to first 300.The
Mallow 10 has been rescheduled for Sunday 27th March at 12:30pm

Photos........(Updated Thurs 3rd Feb 2011)
1) Supplied by Paudie Birmingham of Mallow AC at around the 0.8 mile mark. A slideshow of photos can be seen
HERE or you can see them individually by visiting Paudie's website HERE

2) Again supplied by the roundabout near the finish. A slideshow of photos can be seen HERE or you can see them individually by visiting Paudie's website HERE

3) West Waterford have 2 very large galleries of photos HERE and HERE

Comments.....Did you run the race today? What did you think of it? The course? The organisation?.....Click on the comment link below


The 20th Annual Quantum life Dungarvan 10 mile hosted by West Waterford Athletic Club saw a record turn out of 1050 finishers in today’s race. Held in cold but dry conditions, the race was got under way by Villierstowns favourite son John Treacy who also completed the course himself. Conditions were ideal and the proof of this came in the way of both course records falling.

In the Men’s race, victory went to Latvian Mareks Floroseks in a time of 49.26. Indeed, the second finisher was also inside that old record when Clonliffe Harriers Sergiu Ciobanu clocked 49.49, third was Sandis Bralitis of West Waterford AC who previously held the course record of 50.08. His time today was 51.15.

In the Ladies race it was gun to tape victory for Siobhan O’ Doherty of Borrisokane AC with a splendid time of 56.28. She finished 22nd overall in the race. Angela McCann of  Clonmel AC broke the 60 minute mark for the very first time with a splendid 59.50 to finish 2nd and Kilmore AC's Jackie Cart was 3rd in 61.33.



In the inaugural John Treacy club challenge which was held in conjunction with the Quantum Life Dungarvan 10, we saw a great battle for the team challenge cups with all runners counting. It was based on the accumulative score of the top 3 runners in each team.

In the Men’s race West Waterford took the team win with Sandis Bralitis, Philip Harty and Raivis Zakis in a time of 2.38.19 from St.Finbarrs AC with 2.45.44 sec and Armagh AC 3rd in 2.49.28.

CORRECTION : In the Ladies team event, it was a much closer affair with victory going to Eagle AC with 3:17:18. In second place were Waterford AC with 3.21 .21 and St Finbarrs AC  were 3rd with 3.22.56.

Olympic Silver Medalist John Treacy was on hand to present the winners with the perpetual cups and beautiful crystal mementos for each team member.

Category Results...
MENS RESULTS1 Mareks Floroseks Latvia 49.26 (COURSE RECORD)
2 Sergiu Ciobanu Clonliffe 49.49
3 Sandis Bralitis WWAC 51.15
4 Colin Merritt Carraig na Bhfear 52.19
5 Philip Harty WWAC 52.58
6 Georgie Waugh Rising Sun AC 53.26
7 Raivis Zakis WWAC 54.00
8 Evan Scully DSD 54.16
9 Barry Donovan UCC 54.22
10 Cornelius Marshall St. Finbarrs 54.26

Over 40...Jim Baldwin Waterford A.C. 59.01, Derek Cullen West Limerick 59.43
Over 45...Cathal O’ Connell St. Finbarr’s A.C. 54.38, Paul Moran Individual 57.38
Over 50...Dermot Kerr Armagh 55.49, Gerry O’ Connell North East Runners 56.22
Over 55...Joe Ahearne Bilboa A.C. 65.30, Michael Walsh Gowran 69.47
Over 60...Pat Twomey Eagle A.C. 65.16
Over 65...Peter Gaffney Mallow A.C. 67.59

1st club Carrick A.C. (93 points)...Tommy Falconer, Brian Murphy, Michael Murphy
2nd Team Waterford A.C. (103 points)...Brian Swaby, Frank Quinlan, David Cunningham
3rd Team West Waterford (110 points)...Robert Fuller, Rory Moloney, Shane Power

1 Siobhain O’ Doherty Borrisokane 56.28
2 Angela McCann Clonmel 59.50
3 Jackie Carthy Kilmore A.C. 61.33
4 Sylvia Malone Waterford A.C. 63.40
5 Norma Wall WWAC 64.25
6 Annmarie Holland Eagle A.C. 64.26

Over 35...Barbara Cleary Individual 65.19, Kathleen Horgan Sportsworld 65.88
Over 40...Diane Behan Waterford A.C. 68.18, Deirdre Finn Bilboa 68.41
Over 45...Liz Nolan Waterford A.C. 71.48, Angela McEvoy St. Finbarrs 72.18
Over 50...Mary Sweeney St. Finbarrs 65.26, Margaret Harty Individual 78.44
Over 55...Bernie Sexton Carrick A.C. 91.40
Over 60...Maggie Dunne Carraig na Bhfear 86.49

1st Club Eagle A.C. (41 points)...Deirdre Nagle, Maura Regan, Collette Holland


Anonymous said...

An absolutely fantastic race!! SUPERBLY organised by West Waterford AC, Hats off to them. They even got the weather right! Will be back again next year. Best event in Munster running!!

Anonymous said...

fantastic run my first time doing this one and came in 8mins a mile my best so far so very very happy. well done to all the including the people who handed out the water fab goody bag to finish love the t-shirt. will be back next year


Danny Lane said...

Really impressed with the goody bag. The quality of the tee shirt is top notch. More races giving this type of tshirt would be great!!

Anonymous said...

Excellant 10 mile race,credit to west waterford ac and all those who helped,very good goody bag,plenty of food after the race.
Fantastic day.

Anonymous said...

A very well organised run, Well done West Waterford AC... Will be back next year for the great atmosphere and scenery