Thursday, January 2, 2014

Tipperary...Results of the Clonmel 4 mile road race - Thurs 26th Dec 2013

An impressive 411 runners turned out for this years Clonmel 4 mile road race on St.Stephens Day.

1 Eoin Everard    Kilkenny City Harriers    Senior Men    18:59
2 Sean Tobin    Clonmel A C    Senior Men    19:03
3 Sergiu Ciobanu    Clonliffe Harriers A C    Senior Men    19:04
15 Siobhan O'Doherty    Borrisokane A C    Senior Women    21:50
33 Angela McCann    Clonmel A C    Senior Women    23:11
39 Dympna Ryan    Dundrum A C    Senior Women    23:31

Race report from Clonmel AC......The St Stephen’s Day 4 miles road race took place in good dry conditions. There was a fantastic entry with 412 athletes competing over what is regarded as one of the best 4 mile courses in the country. This year’s race attracted a top class entry with 5 International athletes dictating the pace after the initial charge. The leading group was down to four as they approached the 2 mile mark with Sean Tobin (Clonmel), Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) along with Eoin Everard and Brian Maher (Kilkenny City Harriers) setting the pace. As the athletes reached Bulmer’s Roundabout Eoin Everard upped the pace with Sean the only one to give chase. These two were still together as they reached 3 miles , then over the final 1K Eoin increased the pace and opened a gap which he held all the way to the line to win in a brilliant time of 18 mins 59 secs, a fantastic performance. Then we had Sean Tobin finishing 2nd withstanding a late late challenge from Sergiu Ciobanu, last year’s winner who was 1 sec adrift. Then we had Brian Maher , a previous winner of this race , finishing 4th mins 7 secs with Brian McMahon (Clonliffe Harriers) 5th has been promoted by the Club since 1988 when 87 athletes took part.

Since then it has grown in stature and in 2008 we change the course to its present route which is basically the old route in reverse and it has received great reviews ever since. Eoin Everard’s brilliant performance of 18 mins 59 secs puts him in 3rd place overall behind Sandis Bralitis (West Waterford) who ran 18 mins 54 secs in 2008 and David McCarthy (West Waterford) who ran 18:58 in 2011.

The Ladies race was also a great race with Siobhain O Doherty (Borrisokane) running very well to win a great race in 21 mins 50 secs, great performance and she set a new course record and is the only woman to get under 22 minutes for this course. Then we had local star, Angela McCann running very well when finishing 2nd with Dympna Ryan (Dundrum) 3rd  in 23:31. Grace McConnell (Ballyroan / Abbeyleix) ran very well when finishing 4th senior lady in 24:30 with Sandra Bowe (Clonmel) 5th in 24:49.

The Club would like to thank South Tipperary Vocational Committee for the use of their fine facilities at the Mall as the Race headquarters. The Club would also like to thank the Gardai, Civil Defence and all the stewards and everyone who helped to make this event such a brilliant success.

No comments: