Sunday, April 26, 2015

Tipperary...Results of the Faugheen 5k road race - Fri 24th Apr 2015

The first race in the Outfield Sports 3 Counties Challenge got underway in the village of Faugheen with a field of 162 runners.

Faugheen 5k Winners :
Senior Men : 1. David Mansfield (Garda AC) 15:28 2. Niall Sheil (St. Killians) 15:45 3. Noel Murphy (Waterford AC) 15:49
O/40 ; Martin Monaghan (Slaney Olympic) 16:32
O/45 ; PJ Guinan (West Waterford AC) 17:05
O/50 ; Brendan Cronin (Carrick AC) 18:47
O/55 ; Tom Moroney (West Waterford AC) 20:22
O/60 ; Joe Gough (West Waterford AC) 18:24
Team : Thurles Crokes AC (Patrick Hughes, John Fitzgibbon and John Treacy)

David Mansfield...winner of the 2015 Faugheen 5k race

Senior Ladies : 1. Siobhan O' Doherty (Borrisokane AC) 17:15 2. Claire Annan ( Clonmel AC) 18:28 3. Maedbh Savage (Waterford AC) 19:19
O/35 ; Joan Mahony (Waterford AC) 19:25
O/40 ; Siobhan McHugh (Clonmel AC) 19:29
O/45 ; Catherine Condon (West Waterford AC) 25:02
O/50 ; Maura O' Neill (Carrick AC) 23:05
O/55 ; Bernie Prendergast (West Waterford AC) 22:53
Team : Carrick AC ( Mary Molloy, Ann Cronin, Bernie Sexton)

Siobhan O'Doherty...winner of the 2015 Faugheen 5k race

The full results are available on the Carrick Road Runners website

1) John Murphy photography has a number of photos HERE

From the organisers......Bobby Fitzgerald Accounting Faugheen 5k

The 2015 Three Counties Challenge got off to a flying start on Friday evening when 163 runners lined up for the third annual Faugheen 5k. This race was once again kindly sponsored by Bobby Fitzgerald Accounting, Carrick-on-Suir. The series, which is now in its ninth year, takes in races over 5k to 10k in the three neighbouring counties of Tipperary, Waterford and Kilkenny.

Conditions were perfect as the runners set off from just outside the village on the fast, flat loop traditionally used for the 'Faugheen 50' motorcycle races. Right from the start it was David Mansfield (Garda AC) who led out the field. David maintained his strong pace to come home in a time of 15:28 and add to his recent victory in the Ballinroad 5k. In a close-run battle for the places, it was Niall Sheil (St. Killian's AC) who took the runner-up prize in a time of 15:45, just ahead of Waterford AC athlete, Noel Murphy (15:49). Carrick AC's top finisher in the men's race was Derek Walsh who clocked 17:41 in 21st place.

The ladies' race was won for the second consecutive year by Siobhan O' Doherty (Borrisokane AC) who came home in 17:15, just five seconds off the course record which she set last year. Second place went to Clonmel AC's Claire Annan in 18:28 and Maedbh Savage from Waterford AC took the third prize in 19:19. Mary Molloy was Carrick AC's first finisher in 19:40.

Congratulations to Stephanie Coffey and Thomas Kavanagh who both won a pair of New Balance running shoes in the post-race draw.

Carrick AC would like to thank all who helped to make this event such a resounding success. We are particularly grateful to Bobby Fitzgerald for the generous race sponsorship and to Alan Treacy of Outfield Sports for the continued sponsorship of the series.
Our friends in Carrick-on-Suir Red Cross were once again on hand to provide the vital medical and ambulance back-up and we are once again very grateful to Finola Walsh and the team for their assistance. A big thank you also to all of our race stewards who ensured the safety of all runners along the race route and to the Bartley family for providing parking facilities.
Thanks also to the many volunteers who helped with parking, registration and race results. The post-race refreshments and prize-giving in Flemings Bar were greatly enjoyed by all and thanks to Margaret Fleming for looking after everybody so well.

The second race in the series will be the O' Neill Pharmacy Tom Jordan Memorial road race over 5 miles in Portlaw on Friday, 8th May at the slightly later time of 7:30pm.

Photos : John Murphy Photography

The organisers have a gallery HERE

No comments: