Thursday, April 30, 2015

Tipperary...Results of the Morrisons BMW Run4Fun 4 mile - Wed 29th Apr 2015

A large crowd of 366 runners turned out for this years Morrisons BMW Run4Fun 4 mile race in Cahir on Wed 29th Apr 2015.

1    William Maunsell     Clonmel A C    Sen M    20:12
2    David Mansfield    Clonliffe Harriers    Sen M    20:22
3    Mark Darmody     Clonmel A C    M40    22:06
20    Dympna Ryan    Dundrum A C     Sen W    24:45
21    Aine Roche     Clonmel A C    Sen W    24:52
27    Mary Louise Ryan    Mooreabbey Milers A C    Sen W    25:20

The full results can be seen HERE

1) Cahir News have a gallery HERE 
2) Tipperary Photos have a gallery HERE

From Clonmel AC... The 3rd promotion of the Cahir RUN4FUN took place in good dry conditions where athletes at times had to contend with strong winds. Still despite the inclement weather 367 athletes competed and it was a great spectacle. The last 800m downhill was very much welcome and athletes made good use of the section to record some very fast and impressive times.

The race was a great tussle between David Mansfield (Clonliffe harriers0 and the eventual winner, William Maunsell (Clonmel) as they were stride for stride for the majority of the race. it was only over the final 800m that William edged in front and kept the pace going to come home a worthy winner in 20 mins 12 secs with David a further 10 secs adrift. The tussle for 3rd place changed a lot over the final 3k with Mark Darmody (Clonmel) coming through to finish 3rd and win the over 40 award in 22 mins 6 secs. Dermot Hayes of Dundrum was 2nd over 40 in 2:47. For the record Michael J Ryan (Dundrum) was 4th in 22:29, Jimmy Boland (Clonmel) 5th in 22:32 and Colin Bradshaw (Dundrum) 6th in 22:36.

The Ladies race was also very competitive as both Aine Roche (Clonmnel0 and the eventual winner Dympna Ryan (Dundrum) were stride for stride for most of the race and it was only on the final downhill stretch that Dymphna pulled away to win in 24 mins 45 secs with Aine next in 24 mins 52 secs. Then we had Mary Louise Ryan (Moore Abbey Milers) 3rd in 25:20 with Keeley Tideswell (Clonmel) 4th in 25:38. Mary Molloy (Carrick on Suir) came trough to finish 5th and was 1st over 35 in 26:25 with Ausra Mackeviciute (Cashel Running Club) 6th in 27:01 and Tracy Culleton (Rosegreen) 2nd over 35 in 27:06.

At the Presentation of the Prizes, Frank Lynch Chairman of Clonmel AC thanked the Garda, Red Cross and the many Club stewards who ensured the whole event was a great success. Gary Morrison of Morrison BMW Cahir also thanked the many people who helped in any way to make the event such a success and in particular all his staff for all their hard work over the past couple of days. He was also delighted to have Childline as the chosen Charity this year.

Then we had the Special draw where for every 12 athletes that crossed the finishing line one of them received a voucher and this was done by having Pre selected finishing positions drawn while the race was in progress. So the prizes were evenly distributed throughout the whole race and everyone had an equal chance of winning. This is the only event in Ireland that distributes the prizes in this way and the prizes varied from 100 Euros to 30 Euros. The Lucky winners were as follows: Dermot Hayes 7th, Brendan Kinnane 16th, Edmund Kinane 32nd, Eamonn Barrett 42nd, Grainne Wade 66th, Shelly Tobin 95th, Kevin Moloney 101st, Michael Halley 113th, Gloria Boles 126th, Gillian Prendergast 133rd, Mary Rose Kinane 141st, Claire O Dwyer 178th, Triona Dalton 196th, Carol Dowling 228th, Claire Ryan 244th, Louise O Keeffe 255th, Noreen Holmes 270th, Ailish O Keeffe 283rd, Joanne Reidy 285th, Orla Cashman 296th, Caroline Meaney 318th and Betty Elliott 331st.

No comments: