Friday, April 3, 2015

Tipperary...Results of the Morrison BMW 6k race, Clonmel - Wed 1st Apr 2015

From Clonmel AC......The Morison BMW Cahir sponsored 6k road series got off to a fantastic start (Wednesday) with a near record entry of 329 athletes representing 77 teams, absolutely brilliant and thanks to all the team Captains for all their help. Thanks also to the Gardai and the Civil Defence as well as our many stewards who ensured that the whole event was a brilliant success, even the weather was in our favour. Well done to Aaron O Donnell (Carrick Road Runners) who was 1st in 20 mins 44 secs, John Shanahan (Individual) 2nd in 20 mins 55 secs and Nigel O Flaherty (Clonmel Premier Physiotherapy) 3rd in 21 mins 15 secs. The top three women were Dymphna Ryan (The Five Counties) in 23 mins 50 secs, Siobhan McHugh (MSD Team 3) 2nd in 24 mins 30 secs and 3rd Aine Roche (Aine Roche Strength and Conditioning) in 24 mins 39 secs.

In the team competition we have 7 Divisions this year, such is the interest. For many athletes this was their first run over this route and so it was hard for them to accurately predict their time. Taking this into account we have brought in a Default System just for tonight's results. In Division One the default is that all the teams regardless of what they scored tonight they are within 30 points of the Leaders, in Division Two it is also a default of within 30 points of the leaders. In Division Three and Four it is a default of within 40 points of the Leaders. In Division Five, Six and Seven it is a default of within 50 points of the Leaders. This format gives every team a chance of success.

As regards the way we drew up the Divisions, Divisions One and Two are teams that have some experienced athletes in them. Division Three, Four and Five are for teams that have a mixture of experience and newcomers while Division Six and Seven are for Relative Newcomers.
We would also like to thank the Tipperary Educational Training Board for the use of their fine facilities at the Mall as Race Headquarters for this series of races. 

1    Aaron O Donnell    Carrick Roadrunners    20:44
2    Andrew Smith    Individual    20    55
3    Nigel O Flaherty    Clonmel Premier Physiotherapy    21:15
19    Dympna Ryan    The Five Counties    23:50
29    Siobhan McHugh    MSD Team 3    24:30
31    Aine Roche    Aine Roche Strength and Conditioning    24:39

The full results including team positions can be seen HERE

No comments: