Saturday, April 30, 2016

Tipperary...Results & photos of the Cahir Run4Fun 4 mile road race - Wed 27th Apr 2016

From Clonmel AC...The 4th promotion of the Morrison BMW sponsored Cahir RUN4Fun 4 mile road race, promoted by Clonmel Athletic Club, took place last night in ideal running conditions with 365 athletes competing. This year's race nominated Charity was the Cahir Day Care Centre.

The race started outside Morrison BMW showrooms and Nigel O Flaherty (Clonmel AC) was the first man home.

1    O Flaherty Nigel      21:49    Clonmel AC    SM
2    McNamara Emmet      21:51    Unattached    SM
3    Lees Kieran      22:05    Mooreabbey Milers    SM
The Master awards winners for the Men were Kenny Curran (Ballynonty AC) who was 1st over 40 in 22 mins 32 secs with Dermot Hayes (Dundrum AC) 2nd in 22 mins 33 secs.

The Women's race was also very competitive with victory going to Clare Annan of Clonmel AC in 24 mins 3 secs.

9    Annan Claire      24:03    Clonmel AC    SW
20    Roche Aine      25:16    Clonmel AC    SW
24    Grogan Linda       25:32    Dundrum AC     SW
The Master Women's awards were won by Yvonne O Connor (Clonmel AC) 1st over 35 in 26 mins 17 secs with Suzanne Shine (Clonmel AC) 2nd over 35 in 26 min 34 secs.

The full results can be seen HERE

At the Presentation of the Prizes, Nicola Maunsell Vice Chairperson of Clonmel AC thanked the Garda, Civil Defence and the many stewards who ensured the whole event was a great success. Gary Morrison of Morrison BMW Cahir also thanked the many people who helped in any way to make the event such a success and in particular all his staff for all their hard work over the past couple of days. He was also delighted to have the Cahir Day Care Centre as the chosen Charity this year.

Then we had the Special draw where for every 12 athletes that crossed the finishing line one of them received a voucher and this was done by having Pre selected finishing positions drawn while the race was in progress. So the prizes were evenly distributed throughout the whole race and everyone had an equal chance of winning. This is the only event in Ireland that distributes the prizes in this way and the prizes varied from 100 Euros to 20 Euros.

The Lucky winners were as follows: Sammy Fogarty 11th, Brian O Gorman 19th, Emmet Prendergast 33rd, Barry Kent 48th, Vincent McHugh 55th, Thomas Hartigan 70th, Pat Hackett 77th, John Roche 85th, David Falvey 100th, Benny Walsh 105th, Mary Pyke 126th, Francis Murray 129th, Seamus Dorney 145th, Michelle Nugent 159th, Carol Tobin 169th, Marie O Reilly 185th, Deborah Ryan 198th, Julie White 213rd, Olive Gleeson 221st, Anne White 237th, Sarah Twomey 250th, Marie White 258th, Martina Butler 273rd, Sheila Slattery 285th, Glenda Myles 293rd, Karen O Brien 305th, Helen Cahill 317th, Marian O Mahoney 312nd, Patrick Peters 327th, Julie Tideswell 330th, Kathleen Meehan 334th, Sean English 346th, Deirdre Ui Shuilleabháin 351st and Rosie O Leary 353rd. Any prizes that were not collected were donated to the chosen charity.

1) Cahir News has a large gallery HERE

No comments: