Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Tipperary...Results of the Walls of Fethard 4 mile road race - Wed 29th May 2013

For the vast majority of races, the first person home is nearly always a man. It's pretty usual to see the first woman coming home in about 10th position or so overall.

In the 2013 Walls of Fethard 4 mile race, Siobhain Doherty of Borrisokane was not only the winner of the womens race but she was also the first across the excellent performance.

1    O DOHERTY, Siobhain    Borrisokane    Senior Women    21:59
7    RYAN, Dympna    Dundrum A C     Senior Women    23:04
12    ANNAN, Claire    Carrick on Suir A C    Senior Women    24:20
2    MULLANEY, Shane    Thurles Crokes    Senior Men    21:59
3    RICE, Fintan    Fethard A C     Men over 45    22:05
4    CUMMINS Paddy    Moycarkey Coolcroo    Senior Men    22:09

The full results can be seen HERE

Race report from the organisers...
Siobhain O Doherty wins Fethard 4miler...The Fethard Road Races took place last Wednesday night, 30th May with a record entry. This year there were two events, the Open 4 mile race which attracted 142 athletes and the 2 Mile event that was aimed at the ever growing Meet and Train athletes and this attracted an entry of 18. This is a major increase on last year’s combined numbers of 80.
In the 4 mile event we had Siobhain O Doherty of Borrisokane holding off the fast finishing Shane Mullaney of Thurles Crokes to become the first women winner of this event, a brilliant achievement. Siobhain’s winning time was 21 mins 59 secs with Shane credited with the same time. There was a big cheer for Fintan Rice of the host Club, who is running very well at present, as he came through to finish 2nd in 22 mins 5 secs when 3rd overall. Paddy Cummins of Moycarkey Coolcroo who has shown very good form in recent weeks also finished strongly when 3rd Senior man in 22 mins 9 secs. Dave Kenneally of Thurles Crokes was 1st over 40 in 23:52, then we had James Ryan 1st 0/45 in 22:31, Brendan Ahearne of Kilsheelan 1st 0/50 in 24:09, Jack Alexander of Coolquill 1st 0/55 in 25:00, Joe Grinsell of Clonmel 1st 0/60 in 30:39 and Paddy Shelley of Ballynonty 1st 0/65 in 30:28. Dean Campion of Thurles was 1st Junior in 28:50. The 1st local man was Michael Moclair in 24:49. In the ladies race Dymphna Ryan of Dundrum ran very well when 2nd Senior Woman in 23:04 with Clare Annan of Carrick on Suir 3rd in 24:20. Mary Molloy of Clonmel was 1st woman over 35 in 27:40 with Martina Ryan of Thurles Crokes 1st 0/40 in 26:40, Kathleen O Meara of Thurles Crokes was 1st 0/45 in 31:42 and Eileen Skelly of Carrick on Suir was 1st 0/50 in 33:25. Jennifer Rice of Fethard won the Junior Woman’s award in 32:42 while Aine Doocey won the 1st Local woman’s prize in 29:30. The organising committee would like to thank everyone who helped to make this event such a success.

No comments: